JAMB Brochure For Fisheries and Aquaculture – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Fisheries and Aquaculture under the of Faculty of Agriculture. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Fisheries and Aquaculture course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Fisheries and Aquaculture Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Fisheries and Aquaculture in Nigeria

  • Adamawa State University
  • Akwa Ibom State University
  • Ebonyi State University
  • Federal University Of Agriculture, Makurdi
  • Federal University of Technology Akure
  • Federal University, Oye-ekiti
  • Federal University, Wukari
  • kogi State University
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology
  • Osun State University
  • Salem University
  • University of Uyo

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Fisheries and Aquaculture Course

To study Fisheries and Aquaculture in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credit passes in English Language, Chemistry, Biology/Agric Science, Mathematics and Physics/Geography/Economics.

UTME Subjects Combination For Fisheries and Aquaculture Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Fisheries and Aquaculture under the Faculty of Agriculture in the institutions are: Chemistry, Biology/Agric and Mathematics/ Physics.


Direct Entry Requirements for Fisheries and Aquaculture

Two ‘A’ level passes in Chemistry and Biology/Botany/Agric Science/Zoology/Physics.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) RSUST and DELSU accept a pass (P.7) in English Language.

(ii) UNAAB requires:
a) Credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.
b) At least a pass in Physics.
c) Candidates with pass grade in Biology must possess credit pass in Agricultural Science.It does not accept Agricultural Science in lieu of Biology.

(iii) RSUST requires a pass in Physics.

(iv) UNIBADAN – The sixth subject for candidates presenting two O’ level results could be geography or Economics.

(v) FUTO requires five SSCE credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Agricultural Science and Economics. It accepts a Pass in Physics in not more than two sittings.

(vi) UNN accepts five O ’level credit passes in subjects which must include English Lang., Biology/or Agric. Science, chemistry and either mathematics or physics.

(vii) FUTA requires a Credit in Physics and does not accept Geography and Economics.

(viii) RSUST requires credit pass in Agricultural Science with at least a pass in Biology. It also requires credit passes in Chemistry, Economics and Mathematics.

(ix) EBSU requires at least a pass in Physics.

(x) FUTA requires five (5) credits in WASSCE or GCE (O/L) or equivalent at a maximum of two (2) sittings in the following subjects: English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science and Economics or Geography. At least a pass in Physics is required.

(xi) UNIOSUN requires five ‘O’ Level credit passes in the SSCE or its equivalent at not more than two sittings in addition to an acceptable credit pass in the UTME.

(xii) FUAM requires At least five SSCE/NECO/GCE O’ Level credits at not more than two sittings.
– The five credits O’ Level shall include the following:
– Credits in Chemistry, Biology/Agric. Science; Mathematics, English, and any other Science subject among Physics, Geography and Economics.Credit in Physics is not compulsory. A candidate with a pass in Mathematics but credit in Physics will be accepted. A candidate with a pass in Biology but credits (C5 and above) in Agric. Science will be accepted. A pass in English is also accepted.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) UNIBADAN accepts HND (Upper Credit) into 200 level with exemption from the practical year programme and ND/NCE (Upper credit) into 100 level with full participation in practical year programme in Aquaculture and Fisheries, Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Health and related fields. It also accepts A’ level in Chemistry, Biology/Agric. Science, Physics or Mathematics into 200 level with full participation in practical year programme.

(ii) FUTA accepts ND or Equivalent professional qualification at Upper credit level or ‘A’ level passes at one sitting in at least two of the following: Physics, Chemistry, Biology. Direct entry candidates must also meet the UTME requirement.

(iii) FUTO requires at least two A’ level passes not below Grade C in Chemistry and any one ofZoology, Botany, Agricultural Science, Biology, Mathematics, Physics and Economics. It also accepts Upper Credit OND/HND in Agricultural Science but does not accept First Degree and NCE. Candidates must in addition meet the UTME O’ level requirements.

(iv) UNIOSUN accepts Two ‘A’ level credit passes in chemistry and one from Biology, Agriculture, Physics, Geography and Mathematics.

(v) FUAM accepts:
a) ND and NCE certificates with minimum of credit in related fields is acceptable. Such candidates can be admitted at 200 level.
b) HND in Fisheries and Aquaculture with minimum of Lower Credit is acceptable. Such candidates can be admitted into 300 levels.
c) HSC or IJMB certificate accepted for 200 level.
d) in addition to (a and b) above, candidates must fulfill the o’ level requirement for undergraduate admission.

(vi) UNAAB accepts:
a) Two A’ level credit passes in Chemistry and one of Zoology/Botany/Agricultural Science/Biology, Mathematics or Physics.
b) ND/HND (Upper credit) in Agriculture from a recognized institution in any one of Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Extension, Fisheries, Forestry and Wildlife Management, Agricultural Technology plus UTME requirements.
c) NCE in Agricultural Science, Biology, Chemistry or Physics (credit) plus UTME requirements.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here