JAMB Brochure For Biology – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Biology under the Faculty of Sciences. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Biology course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Biology Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Biology in Nigeria

  • Adamawa State University
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Augustine University
  • Babcock University
  • Bayero University Kano
  • Baze University
  • Bingham University
  • Chrisland University
  • Covenant University
  • Cross River State University of Technology
  • Ebonyi State University
  • Edwin Clark University
  • Elizade University
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology
  • Evangel University
  • Federal University Gashua
  • Federal University of Technology Akure
  • Federal University of Technology Minna
  • Federal University, Birnin Kebbi
  • Federal University, Dutsin-ma
  • Federal University, Kashere
  • Federal University, Ndufu-alike
  • Federal University, Wukari
  • Godfrey Okoye University
  • Gombe State university
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University
  • Jigawa State University
  • Kaduna State university
  • Kano University Of Science And Technology
  • Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology
  • Kings University
  • Landmark University
  • Lead City University
  • Mountain Top University
  • Nigeria Turkish Nile University
  • Nigerian Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State
  • Northwest University, Kano
  • Ritman University
  • Salem University
  • Sokoto State University
  • Summit University Offa
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • Tansian University
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University
  • University of Abuja
  • University of Ilorin
  • University Of Mkar
  • Usman Dan Fodio University
  • Wellspring University
  • Yobe State University

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Biology Course

To study Biology in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credit passes to include English Language, Biology, Chemistry and Maths/Physics

UTME Subjects Combination For Biology Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Biology under the Faculty of Sciences n the institutions are:

Physics Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics.


Direct Entry Requirements for Biology

Two A, level passes from Chemistry, Biology, Botany/Zoology.

(ii) NCE accepted with at least merit level pass.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) KUST accepts a credit in Agricultural Science.

(ii) GSU accepts pass in Physics.

(iii) EDWIN CLARK and UMYUK requires five credits to include English Language, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and any other Science subject in not more than two sittings

(iv) KASU only accepts Physics or Geography as the other Science subject.

(v) NTNU accepts English Language, Mathematics, Biology and any other two Science subjects.

(vi) FUTA requires five credit passes in English language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science

(vii) FUTMINNA requires at least a pass in Physics.

(viii) EVANGEL accepts any other Science subject in lieu of Physics.

(ix) KSUSTA requires credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Biology and any two of Chemistry, Agricultural Science, Geography and Physics at not more than two sittings.

(x) UNIABUJA accepts five credit passes at SSCE (or its equivalent) in English, Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and any other Science subject.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) MINNA accepts Physics

(ii) UNILAG requires Biology but does not accept NCE.

(iii) FUTMINNA and EBSU accept NCE (credit), ND/HND lower credit plus UTME requirements into 200 and 300 level respectively. (EBSU 200 level only).

(iv) AJAYI requires A’ level passes in Biology and Chemistry plus UTME requirements.

(v) CRUTECH same as in Biodiversity Conservation and Utilization Level IJAMB/NCE/ND or approved equivalent in Botany, Zoology, Biology and Chemistry.

(vi) KUST accepts ND/NCE or relevant qualification (Upper Credit/Merit) in Biology, Health Science/ Zoology or Botany.

(vii) AL-HIKMAH accepts NCE passes.

(viii) CUAB accepts ND in relevant fields.

(ix) UMYUK accepts in addition to five O level requirements (UTME) candidates must have a minimum of grade C, PASS at Higher School Certificate/GCE advanced level or its equivalent in Biology, Chemistry and any other Science subject in not more than two sittings. Candidates with a minimum of 13 points or above in their NCE in Biology, Chemistry or in relevant subjects may also be admitted.

(x) FUTA expects applicants to possess in addition to (a) above GCE Advance Level or equivalent in at least two of the following subjects: Biology/Agricultural Science, Chemistry and Physics/Mathematics. Holders of National Diploma from a recognized institution with a minimum of Upper credit in SLT, Science Technology, Food Technology, Food Microbiology or related disciplines are also eligible for admission.

(xi) CRUTECH accepts ND/HND (lower credit) in Biology, Biotechnology, Zoology, Microbiology, Botany, Laboratory Science, or related fields plus UTME requirement.

(xii) KSUSTA requires GCE A’ level/NCE, IJMB or equivalent in Biology and Technical Drawing or Chemistry, Geography or Physics in addition to O’ level credit passes in Mathematics or Physics. It also accepts ND/HND at credit level in relevant fields.

(xiii) NTNU accepts any two A’ level passes in Science subjects, ND/HND (lower credit) or NCE (merit) in relevant fields.

(xiv) UNIABUJA accepts At least two A level credit passes in Biology, Botany, Zoology and Chemistry or Physics. Or NCE (minimum 10 points) and ND(upper credit) in relevant disciplines.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here