JAMB Brochure For Computer Engineering – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Computer Engineering under the of Faculty of Faculty of Engineering, Environment and Technology. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Computer Engineering course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Computer Engineering Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Computer Engineering in Nigeria

  • Afe Babalola University
  • Bayero University Kano
  • Bells University of Technology
  • Caritas University
  • Covenant University
  • Ekiti State University
  • Elizade University
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology
  • Federal University of Technology Minna
  • Federal University, Oye-ekiti
  • Igbinedion University
  • Kwara State University
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology
  • Madonna University
  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture
  • Nigeria Turkish Nile University
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Rivers State University of Science and Technology
  • University of Benin
  • University of Lagos
  • University of Maiduguri
  • University of Uyo

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Computer Engineering Course

To study Computer Engineering in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credit passes to include Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Chemistry , Physics and English Language.

UTME Subjects Combination For Computer Engineering Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Computer Engineering under the Faculty of Faculty of Engineering, Environment and Technology in the institutions are: Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.

Direct Entry Requirements for Computer Engineering

Three ‘A’ level passes in Pure Mathematics or Pure and Applied Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) RSUST and MOUA accepts further Mathematics in lieu of Mathematics and requires Agricultural Science or Biology as the fifth subject.

(ii) ABUAD and OOU accept any Science Subject in lieu of Further Mathematics.

(iii) ESUTECH requires credit pass in English Language and all other relevant subjects

(iv) UNILAG same as in Chemical Engineering requires credit pass in Further Mathematics

(v) NTNU accepts English Language, Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry and any other two Science subjects.

(vi) FUTMINNA and BELLS require five SSCE Credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and any other Science subject.

(vii) FED-OYEEKITI requires five SSCE Credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and one Science or social science subject.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) UNIBEN accept HND (lower credit) and ND (upper credit) plus UTME requirements.

(ii) UNIUYO accepts ND /HND in relevant fields plus UTME requirements.

(iii) ABUAD accepts HND (Lower Credit) and ND (upper Credit) in addition to UTME requirements into 200 level.

(iv) UNILAG accepts;
(a) Very good passes in three (3) JUPEB/A-LEVEL subjects: Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry.
(b) HND/ND (Distinction) or A/Level Cambridge.
(c) Candidate must satisfy the O/Level requirement – Same as in Chemical Engineering.

(v) OOU accepts ND/HND in Computer Science, upper/lower credits respectively.

(vi) UNIMAID accepts National Diploma (Credit) and IJMB (9 points) in related field.

(vii)UNIBEN – in addition to UTME requirements requires:
(a) First Degree Second Class Lower in the Sciences or Agric; Degree in Medicine, Dentistry or Pharmacy and PTI HND (Lower Credit) / ND (Upper Credit).
(b) HND (Upper credit) in Engineering/Technology and PTI (HND (Upper credit) into 300 levels.
(c) ND / HND holders should have ‘A’ grade in Mathematics.

(viii) RSUST accept ND (upper credit), HND (lower credit) in relevant areas plus UTME requirements.

(ix) OAU accepts ND Computer Science (Upper Credit)

(x) Bells accepts;
(a) Two A’ Level passes from Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.
(b) ND/HND (Upper Credit respectively) in Computer Engineering, or Electrical/Electronic Engineering

(xii) FED-OYEEKITI requires two A’ Level passes from Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.

(xiii) NTNU accepts any two A’ level passes in Science subjects, ND/HND (lower credit) or NCE (merit) in relevant fields.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here