JAMB Brochure For Education and Mathematics – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Education and Mathematics under the of Faculty of Education. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Education and Mathematics course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Education and Mathematics Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Education and Mathematics in Nigeria

  • Abia State University
  • Adamawa State University
  • Adekunle Ajasin University
  • Ahmadu Bello University
  • Al-Hikmah University
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Anambra State University
  • Bauchi State University
  • Bayero University Kano
  • Benson Idahosa University
  • Benue State University
  • Cross River State University of Technology
  • Delta State University
  • Ebonyi State University
  • Ekiti State University
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology
  • Federal University Gusau
  • Federal University of Technology Minna
  • Federal University, Dutsin-ma
  • Federal University, Kashere
  • Godfrey Okoye University
  • Gombe State university
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University
  • Ignatius Ajuru University
  • Imo State University
  • Jigawa State University
  • Kano University Of Science And Technology
  • Katsina University
  • Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology
  • kogi State University
  • Lagos State University
  • Lead City University
  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture
  • Nasarawa State University
  • National Open University of Nigeria
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Northwest University, Kano
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Sokoto State University
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University
  • University of Abuja
  • University of Benin
  • University of Calabar
  • University of Ibadan
  • University of Ilorin
  • University of Jos
  • University of Lagos
  • University of Maiduguri
  • University Of Mkar
  • University of Port-Harcourt
  • University of Uyo
  • Usman Dan Fodio University

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Education and Mathematics Course

To study Education and Mathematics in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics plus one other Science subject.

UTME Subjects Combination For Education and Mathematics Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Education and Mathematics under the Faculty of Education in the institutions are: Mathematics and any two of the following Science subjects: Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

Direct Entry Requirements for Education and Mathematics

Two ‘A’ level/NCE passes in Mathematics and one Science subject.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) IMSU accepts a Pass 7 in English Language for candidates with distinction in subjects relevant to the course.

(ii) UNILORIN, UNIABUJA and OOU accept TC II (merit/credit) in relevant subjects.

(iv) UNILAG accepts the other Science subject from Physics, and two other science subjects of Chemistry, Biology, Agric. Science (including at least a pass in Further Mathematics).

(v) UNIBEN requires 2 other Science/Social Science subjects.

(vi) UNIJOS does not accept TC II in Arithmetic as subject for ‘O’ level mathematics.

(vii) RSUST and ABU require Two other Science subjects.

(viii) UNIUYO requires a credit pass in English Language and Physics.

(ix) TASUED does not accept Agricultural Science as Science subject.

(x) CRUTECH requires credit passes in Physics and either Chemistry or Biology.

(xi) UNIOSUN and AAUA also require credit in Physics.

(xii) UMYU requires five credit passes including English Language, Mathematics and any other three subjects preferably Further Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology or Agric Science

(xiii) LASU requires five (5) ‘O’ Level Passes in SSCE/NECO, GCE to include English Language, Mathematics, Physics plus three of Biology, Chemistry, Geography /Physics, Physics, and Economics

(xiv) MAUTECH requires:
(a) five (5) ‘O’ level credits in the SSCE/WASC/NECO/GCE in relevant subjects including, English and Mathematics.
(b) Grade II Teachers’ Certificate with a minimum of merit grade in at least five (5) relevant subjects including English and Mathematics.

(xv) TASUED requires Five ‘O’ level credits at one sitting or six ‘O’ level credits at two sittings to include English Language, Mathematics, and at least two subjects from Biology, Physics, Statistics, Chemistry, Further Mathematics, Economics and Geography/Physics

(xvi) UNICAL requires five O/L credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics and any two of Chemistry, Biology and Agricultural Science.

(xvii) BUK requires five O’ Level Credits passes to include English language, Mathematics plus three other Science subject.

(xviii) OAU requires five SSCE credit passes which must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry and any two other two subjects.

(xix) IAUED – Same as in Computer Education.

(xx) GO requires three other Science subjects.

(xxi) KSU requires five Credits at SSCE and or GCE O/Level in English Language, Mathematics and three other Science subjects from Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Agric. Science, Economics.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) FUTMINNA and RSUST accept NCE/ND//HND, not below lower credit in related fields in addition to four relevant UTME subjects

(ii) RSUST, BSU, MAUTECH, OOU and UNIJOS accept NCE in relevant subjects not below merit.

(iii) LASU accepts NCE Merit pass in Mathematics, and one of Physics, Chemistry., Biology, Geography/ Physics and Economics.

(iv) UNILAG accepts;
(a) Very good passes in three JUPEB subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics and O/Level requirements.
(b) NCE with credit/merit in Mathematics and one other science subject.

(v) IMSU accepts NCE (merit) in Education and the two subjects areas into 300 level and below merit into 200 level.

(vi) OAU accepts two ‘A’ level/NCE passes in Mathematics and Physics and Chemistry.

(vii) ADSU – same as in Education/Biology

(viii) EKSU accepts a pass in General English at NCE as equivalent to ‘O’ level English Language.

(ix) ABU accepts two ‘A’ level/NCE/IJMB with a minimum of ‘C’ grade.

(x) UNIBEN requires NCE merit passes including Mathematics and one Science subject plus 3/2 O/Level credit passes including English Language at one sitting.

(xi) BASU accepts NCE (pass with 5 years teaching experience).

(xii) UMYU accepts two A/Level credit passes in Mathematics and either Physics and/or Chemistry. NCE with credit passes in mathematics and another Science subject is also acceptable.

(xiii) UNICAL accepts NCE with credit or merit in Mathematics and one other Science subject.

(xiv) BIU requires in addition to the O level requirements specified, a minimum of two relevant subjects passed at GCE Advanced level or NCE (3 merits) or National Diploma in relevant field not below credit level is required.

(xv) UNIOSUN accepts Two ‘A’ level subjects including Mathematics and any Science Subject. Or NCE with at least merit in Mathematics, and one other approved Science or Social Science subject.

(xvi) IAUED – Same as in Computer Education

(xvii) ABSU accepts NCE/ND/HND with credit/merit in Mathematics and one other science subject.

(xviii) TASUED accepts two ‘A’ level subjects including Mathematics and any Science subject. Or NCE with at least merit in Mathematics, and one other approved Science or Social Science subject.
*ND/HND upper credit in Mathematics/Statistics, Statistics, Mechanical, Computer and Electrical Engineering.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here