JAMB Brochure For Education and Chemistry – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Education and Chemistry under the of Faculty of Education. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Education and Chemistry course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Education and Chemistry Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Education and Chemistry in Nigeria

  • Abia State University
  • Adamawa State University
  • Adekunle Ajasin University
  • Ahmadu Bello University
  • Akwa Ibom State University
  • Al-Hikmah University
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Anambra State University
  • Bauchi State University
  • Bayero University Kano
  • Benue State University
  • Cross River State University of Technology
  • Delta State University
  • Ekiti State University
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology
  • Federal University Gusau
  • Federal University Of Agriculture, Makurdi
  • Federal University of Technology Minna
  • Federal University, Dutsin-ma
  • Federal University, Kashere
  • Fountain University
  • Godfrey Okoye University
  • Gombe State university
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University
  • Ignatius Ajuru University
  • Kano University Of Science And Technology
  • Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology
  • kogi State University
  • Lagos State University
  • Lead City University
  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology
  • Nasarawa State University
  • National Open University of Nigeria
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Northwest University, Kano
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Osun State University
  • Sokoto State University
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • Taraba State University
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University
  • University of Abuja
  • University of Benin
  • University of Calabar
  • University of Ibadan
  • University of Ilorin
  • University of Jos
  • University of Lagos
  • University Of Mkar
  • University of Nigeria
  • University of Port-Harcourt
  • University of Uyo
  • Usman Dan Fodio University
  • Veritas University, Abuja
  • Yobe State University

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Education and Chemistry Course

To study Education and Chemistry in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credits in Mathematics, Chemistry, English Language and two of Physics, Biology and Agricultural Science.

UTME Subjects Combination For Education and Chemistry Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Education and Chemistry under the Faculty of Education in the institutions are: Chemistry and two other subjects chosen from Physics, Biology and Mathematics.

Direct Entry Requirements for Education and Chemistry

Two ‘A’ level/NCE passes including Chemistry and one other Science subject.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) OOU, MAUTECH, ABU and LASU accept TC II at merit level.

(ii) CRUTECH, DELSU, ABU,UDUSOK and IAUED accept a pass in English Language.

iii) FUTMINNA requires credits in Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and other Science subjects.

(iv) RSUST accepts a pass in English Language.

(v) IBBU do not accept Agricultural Science.

(vi) LASU and IAUED require credit pass in Biology.

(vii) DELSU accepts a Pass in English Language.

(viii) TASUED requires Five ‘O’ level credits at one sitting or six ‘O’ level credits at two sittings including English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, and any other two or three subjects from Biology, Geography/Physics, Physics, Agric Science, Additional (Further) Mathematics and Economics

(ix) UNIOSUN requires Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or its equivalents with credit level passes in five (5) subjects: English Language, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry to form the core subjects, with credit in one other relevant Science subject at not more than two sittings.

(x) ABU accepts:
(a) two ‘A’ level/NCE/IJMB with a minimum of ‘C grade in Chemistry and any one other Science subjects.

(xi) BUK requires five O’ Level Credits in Chemistry, Mathematics, English language and two other Science subject

(xii) OAU requires five ‘O’ level credits in Mathematics, Chemistry, English Language and two of Physics, Biology and Agric. Science.

(xiii) UNN requires five O’ level credits including English Language, Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics and two other Science subjects.

(xiv) UNILAG requires credit pass in Physics.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) OAU, UNILORIN, UDUSOK, EKSU, UNICAL and UNIJOS require ‘A’ level passes in either Physics or Mathematics. (EKSU- Mathematics only). UNICAL accepts NCE with credit or merit passes in Chemistry and one other subjects.

(ii) EKSU, FUTMINNA, MAUTECH, UNIBEN, DELSU, OAU and UNN, accept NCE in Science subjects.

(iii) RSUST, FUTMINNA and MAUTECH accept NCE with at least a merit pass and ND/HND with at least lower credit.

(iv) UNILAG accepts:
(a) Very good passes in the following JUPEB subjects: Chemistry, Physics, and Biology and O/Level requirements for Direct Entry.
(b) NCE with credit/merit in Chemistry and any other science subject.

v) Mathematics and English language.
(a) minimum of merit pass at NCE
(b) pass in General English at NCE as equivalent to ‘O’ level credit in English.
(c) UNIJOS does not accept NCE Integrated Science.

(vi) BASU accepts NCE (pass with 5 years teaching experience).

(vii) UMYU accepts two A/Level credit passes in Chemistry and any one in Physics, Mathematics or Biology. A credit in NCE is also acceptable

(viii) MAUTECH accepts two ‘A’ level/NCE passes/NCE Merit including Chemistry and one of Physics, Mathematics, and Biology. ND/HND with upper credit in the following area:
a) Applied Chemistry
b) Science Laboratory Technology (with Chemistry option)
c) Chemistry.

(ix) TASUED accepts two ‘A’ level passes/NCE Merit including Chemistry and one of Physics, Mathematics, and Biology

(x) UNIOSUN accepts NCE and approved equivalents with at least a lower credit pass.

(xi) IAUED accepts credit pass in any one of Physics, Mathematics or Biology in that order.

(xii) UNN accepts
(a) ND in other areas at distinction, credit or merit level who possess the University Minimum entry requirement plus credit in the teaching subject may be considered for direct entry admission but will run the 4-Year programme.
(b) NCE credit/merit passes in addition to TCII merit or O’ level credit in relevant subjects.

(xiii) FUAM accepts:
(a) Two A’ level credit passes in physics
(b) Holders of UME requirements plus HSC/GCE A’ level posses in the relevant science subjects may be admitted into year II (200 level).
(c) ND holders with upper credits in relevant disciplines who posses the UME requirements may be admitted into year II (200 level).
(d) NCE holders with at least 2 credit passes in relevant subjects who possess the UME requirements may be admitted into year II (200 level).

(xiv) SSU also accepts:
a. NCE with at least passes in Chemistry and any other Science subject (Physics, Biology, Mathematics or Computer Science) or a double major subject with O’ level requirement.
b. IJMB passes in Chemistry and at least one Science subject (Physics, Biology, Mathematics or Computer Science) with O’ level requirements.
c. ND/HND with at least credit pass in Chemistry or any relevant subject into 100 level.`

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here