JAMB Brochure For Early Childhood Education – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Early Childhood Education under the of Faculty of Education. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Early Childhood Education course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Early Childhood Education Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Early Childhood Education in Nigeria

  • Kwara State University
  • National Open University of Nigeria
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Tai Solarin University of Education
  • University of Benin
  • University of Jos
  • University of Lagos

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Early Childhood Education Course

To study Early Childhood Education in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have Five SSCE credits including English Language.

UTME Subjects Combination For Early Childhood Education Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Early Childhood Education under the Faculty of Education in the institutions are: Any three Arts subjects.


Direct Entry Requirements for Early Childhood Education

Two ‘A’ level passes chosen from relevant subject areas.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) TASUED does not require credit in Mathematics.

(ii) KWASU requires credit passes in Mathematics, one Science subject and any two other subjects.

(iii) UNIBEN requires five SSCE credits including English Language, Mathematics and Arts subject and any Science subject. Teachers Certificate Grade II at merit level pass.

(iv) UNIJOS requires five ‘O’ level credits in WASSCE/GCE/SSCE/NECO at not more than two sittings, including English Language and Biology/Health Science and at least a pass in Mathematics

(v) KWASU requires Mathematics and any other two subjects.

(vi) UNIBEN accepts any three (3) subjects from social sciences/arts/ 3rd subject may or may not be science subject science.

(vii) UNILAG requires any three (3) subjects in Arts, Science and Social Sciences except Commerce and Typing.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) DELSU – accepts NCE (merit) in Education and a teaching subject.

(ii) OOU accepts NCE (merit) in Nursery and Primary Education.

(iii) TASUED accepts Two ‘A’ level passes/NCE Merit/Credit in Primary Education Studies plus one approved teaching subject.

(iv) KWASU requires two A’ L Passes in G. C. E / IJMB or equivalents, one of which must be in relevant subjects and a teaching subjects in the secondary school system plus UTME requirement.

(v) UNIBEN accepts:
a. NCE with a minimum of merit level pass plus UTME requirements
b. Good passes in at least two (2) subjects at one sitting at Advanced Level or Higher School Certificate
c. National Diploma of recognized polytechnics with a minimum of upper credit level pass plus UTME requirements.

(vi) NCE), IJMB plus five ‘O’ level credits including English Language and Pass in Mathematics.

(vii) UNILAG accepts;
(a) Very good passes in three (3) JUPEB subjects in Arts, Science or Social Sciences except Commerce, Typing and Shorthand.
(b) Two (2) A/Level passes in relevant subjects in Arts, Science or Social Science except Commerce and Typing.
(c) NCE: PES and any other teaching subject.
(d) Candidates must also satisfy the O/Level requirement.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here