JAMB Brochure For Philosophy – Institutions, UTME Subjects & Requirements


This is JAMB brochure for Philosophy under the of Faculty of Arts and Humanities. This brochure will guide you on institutions offering Philosophy course in Nigeria,  UTME subject combination for the course, O’level requirements for UTME candidates, A’level, ND, HND, NCE, requirements for Direct Entry candidates, and other necessary information.

Universities Offering Philosophy Course In Nigeria

Here list of universities offering Philosophy in Nigeria

  • Adekunle Ajasin University
  • Akwa Ibom State University
  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Anambra State University
  • Augustine University
  • Benue State University
  • Bowen University
  • Delta State University
  • Ekiti State University
  • Federal University, Lafia
  • Federal University, Ndufu-alike
  • Federal University, Wukari
  • Fountain University
  • Imo State University
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University
  • kogi State University
  • Lagos State University
  • Madonna University
  • National Open University of Nigeria
  • Niger Delta University
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Obafemi Awolowo University
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Samuel Adegboyega University
  • Tansian University
  • University of Abuja
  • University of Benin
  • University of Calabar
  • University of Ibadan
  • University of Lagos
  • University of Port-Harcourt
  • University of Uyo
  • Veritas University, Abuja

O’Level Subject Subject Combination For Philosophy Course

To study Philosophy in any university in Nigeria, it is required to have

Five SSCE credit passes to include English language and four other relevant subjects.

UTME Subjects Combination For Philosophy Course

English Language is compulsory for all courses. The other three subjects required for Philosophy under the Faculty of Arts and Humanities in the institutions are:

Any three subjects.

Direct Entry Requirements for Philosophy

Any two ‘A’ level passes.


Waiver For UTME Candidates

(i) UNILAG and UNIPORT require a credit pass in Mathematics.

(ii) AAUA, EKSU, OOU, UI, LASU, AAU, OAU, KSU, and IMSU also require at least a pass in Mathematics.

(iii) UI and UNILAG requires 5 ‘O’ credit passes to include English Language and one arts subject.

(iv) OAU requires five “O” level credit passes to include English Language, one Arts subject and a pass in Mathematics..

(v) UNIBEN requires five O level credit passes or five Merit level passes in T.C. II at not more than two sittings. subjects should include English Language and any two other subjects from Arts or Social Sciences. At least a pass in Mathematics is required.

(vi) BSU requires five ‘O’ level credit passes in Social Science including English Language.

(vii) NDU requires five ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language and any other four subjects, two of Arts/Social Science.

(viii) UHIELE requires five O’ level credit passes to include English Language, at least a pass in Mathematics and any two other Arts or Social Science subjects. Candidates MUST be sponsored by a Catholic Diocese.

(ix) BU requires five O level credit passes to include English Language and any two other subjects from Arts, Social Sciences or Science. At least a pass in Mathematics or Physics is required.

(x) UNIUYO requires a credit pass in one Science subjects and at least a pass in Mathematics.

(xi) FUL requires credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Literature in English and any other relevant subjects.

Waiver For Direct Entry Candidates

(i) OAU requires one of the two ‘A’ levels to be an Art subject.

(ii) IMSU, UNIPORT and EKSU -No Direct Entry.

(iii) OOU require at least a pass in Mathematics.

(iv) UNILAG requires (NCE) credit in two teaching subjects one of which must be Arts.

(v) UI requires two ‘A’ level passes in one Arts subject and any other Arts/Social Science /Science subject (e.g. Mathematics, Physics etc)

(vi) LASU accepts a pass in Mathematics.

(vii) AAU accepts three (3) A’ level passes with two (2) O’ level credit passes or two (20 A’ level passes with three (3) O’ level credit passes.

(viii) UNICAL accepts any two ‘A’ level passes in related discipline.

(ix) UNIBEN accepts:
(a) At least two passes in any two subjects at the Advance Level General Certificate in Education (GCE) in one sitting or ion the High School Certificate (HSC) in one sitting.
(b) An overall credit level pass in the Liberal Arts in the National Certificate in Education (NCE) from a recognised and approved College of Education.

(x) BSU accepts NCE/A level passes including Christian Religious Knowledge, African Religion or its equivalent.

(xi) SAU accepts two A’ level subjects to include Government and any other two Arts subjects or credit passes in NCE in Government or History.

(xii) BU accepts two A’ level passes in Philosophy and any other subject.

(xiii) UNIUYO required passes at least two A/Level GCE subjects or ND or NCE in cognate discipline at merit level.

(xiv) NDU accepts:
a. A minimum of 2 GCE or relevant subjects (A/Level) and three (O/Level) subjects including at least a pass in Mathematics.
b. The National Certificate in Education (NCE) merit in any Arts or Science subject, especially Mathematics.

Credit: JAMB Interactive Brochure and Syllabus System


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here